Embedded Studio Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

FPGA Programming File Types

2 posters

Go down

FPGA Programming File Types Empty FPGA Programming File Types

Post  lyh8 Thu Sep 02, 2010 4:33 pm

Hi, I'm a sw engineer, know little about FPGA programming. Recently, I need to program the FPGA for my project. My project has Xilinx FPGA Vertex-4 and associated XCF08 PROM. I looked into the FPGA project folder, I saw there are two files, one is bit file, another is mcs file. I don't know which is for what. Can you advise?

lyh8

Back to top Go down

FPGA Programming File Types Empty Re: FPGA Programming File Types

Post  lzmind Thu Sep 02, 2010 4:52 pm

The bit file is binary configuration data file containing header information that does not need to be downloaded to the FPGA. It is used to program FPGA devices from iMPACT with a programming cable.

The mcs file is ASCII PROM file formats containing address and checksum information in addition to configuration data. It is used mainly for device programmers and iMPACT to program the PROM device.

lzmind

Back to top Go down

Post  lyh8 Fri Sep 03, 2010 10:36 am

Thank you, lzmind, for the explanation of the file types.